Faculty of Humanities

More and detailed information about the faculty to be available on its upcoming official faculty website.

The Faculty of Humanities comprises eight academic departments, namely African Languages and Linguistics, Classics, French, Fine and Performing Arts, English, Language and Communication Skills, Philosophy, and Theology and Religious Studies.


These departments offer quality teaching, conduct quality research, and offer consultancy services in a range of disciplines in the arts and humanities. The Faculty of Humanities also offers content courses to students in the Faculty of Education – supporting their training to become teachers of languages and the arts in secondary schools.


The Faculty has a centre, the Centre for Language Studies (CLS), and it also oversees Chanco Community Radio (CCR), Chancellor College Publications, and the Bindery Section of the Library. It also functions as a link between the College (and the University) and UNIMA affiliated colleges under the Board for Theological Studies (BTS).


The Faculty offers four undergraduate programmes – Bachelor of Arts Humanities (BAH), Bachelor of Arts Theology (BTH), Bachelor of Arts Communication and Cultural Studies (BACCS), and Bachelor of Arts Media for Development (MFD) – and three Postgraduate programmes, namely MA in Literature, MA in Applied Linguistics, MA in Philosophy and MA in Theology and Religious Studies.